Grammar Girl!

This past week I listened to 3 of Grammar Girl’s Podcasts. These short podcasts full of valuable information and tips for improving grammar and are great if you just want to take in little bits at a time to improve your writing and grammar.

The first podcast I listened to was called Grammar Girl: Omitting “That” .  This is something that will be very crucial to grasp, especially in a career that involves writing and especially if you’re writing news articles where “that” is a big deal.  She mentioned instances

“When newspaper copy editors follow an overly zealous ‘that’-striking policy…”

In cases like that is when it becomes important to not forget that sometimes that… is appropriate.

One other thing I would like to have had clarified which I don’t recall was mentioned was the proper use of “that that”.

Overall listening to this podcast was well worth the 8 minutes and 39 seconds. 🙂

The second podcast I listened to was actually very surprising. The title was Needs Washed.  I can’t say this podcast actually clarified something for me (at first), but it did raise an issue in grammar that I was completely unaware of.  The issue is about saying things like “the car needs washed” which actually, correctly stated would be “the car needs to be washed”.  Apparently the way of wording it (the wrong way) is very common.

“Pittsburgh is the epicenter of “needs washed” kind of sentences, but they’re also very common throughout Pennsylvania, and roughly as far west as Iowa, as far North as southern Michigan, and as far south as northern West Virginia.”

Sadly I had no idea that this was not grammatically correct.  What’s scary is she says in the podcast before this that when in doubt, if a native speaker, do what “sounds right”.  Hard to if you’re whole town talks the wrong way!

The third podcast I listened to was Top Ten Grammar Myths.

My favorite Grammar Girl grammar myth is  #5. “I.e.” and “e.g.” mean the same thing. 

Grammar Girl says:

“E.g.” means “for example,” and “i.e.” means roughly “in other words.” You use “e.g.” to provide a list of incomplete examples, and you use “i.e.” to provide a complete clarifying list or statement.

She also gives a link for further details on this topic.

3 Comments »

  1. cynflynn91 Said:

    First of all, I love how you use colors and pictures in your writing. I haven’t seen much of that in other blogs but I think it’s a great way to keep someone’s attention while they’re reading through your work.
    I also am a fan of Grammar Girl’s website because of all the tips there are and how she teaches them.
    My favorite one that you listed here is the one about the common grammar mistakes people make because of dialects in different states and cultures. Coming from a Spanish house, I encounter these a lot and find myself constantly correcting my grammar!
    Keep up the good work.

  2. […] Comment #2: “Grammar Girl!” by Christina Miller […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

